(Between University Women & Alhambra Union Women)

(Helen Littleworth)

(Farah Palmer)

The HLP Cup was established in 2013 to be contested between the womens teams from Otago University Rugby Football Club and Alhambra-Union Rugby Football Club.

It is the first trophy established to be contested between Clubs in the Premier Women Competition in the South Island and possibly New Zealand. It acknowledges both the relationship between the two clubs but also three significant personalities for their Clubs, womens rugby in Otago and indeed New Zealand

Nan Hua

  • Long term coach for Alhambra Union (1991-2016)
  • Winning five banners in that time going unbeated from 2007-2010
  • Produced 6 Black Ferns from the club with 4 other players to later play for the Black Ferns during this time

Helen Littleworth

  • Former coach of University Women and Otago Spirit
  • Still lead physio for University Women, current White Ferns Physio
  • Black Ferns 1990-1996, and captain on 8 occasions
  • NZ Women's Hockey Team 1986-1988
  • Physio to the Black Ferns 1998-2002
  • Physio for High Performance NZ, NZ para-athletics Olympics team 2016, Athletics New Zealand 2006-2012, NZ Olympics Team - Beijing 2008 and London 2012 

Farah Palmer

  • First played for University in 1991 from where she first became a Black Fern in 1995, and later played for the Alhambra Union Club
  • Completed a PhD in sociology of sport in 2000
  • Played 35 tests from 1995 to 2006 with 30 as Captain from 1997, on the losing side just once
  • Retired from the Black Ferns in 2006 after 3 successful World Cups in 1998, 2002 and 2006
  • 2007 Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM) for services to women's rugby and sport
  • In 2016 Farah became the first woman to be on the NZ Rugby Board