Club Captain's Welcome for 2018

Current OURFC Players Representing New Zealand

Josh Dickson Fletcher Smith Dillon Hunt

Josh Dickson
NZ Colt, Otago, Highlanders

Fletcher Smith
NZ Colt, Otago, Highlanders

Dillon Hunt
All Black, NZ Colt, Otago, Highlanders

Matt Faddes Thomas Umaga-Jenson Ricky Jackson

Matt Faddes
NZ 7's, Otago, Highlanders

Thomas Umaga-Jenson
NZ Colt, Wellington

Ricky Jackson
NZ Colt, Otago

Welcome to the Otago University Rugby Football Club

2017 was another fine year for the club with all five teams performing well throughout the season. This resulted in the club once again winning the Ainge Shield for the best performing club in Dunedin.

Results for 2017:
    University A – 5th
    University Women – 2nd
    University B – 5th
    University Colts Blue - 1st
    University Colts Gold – 1st

Honours for the 2017 Season Include:

All Blacks: Dillon Hunt
Barbarians: Dillon Hunt
NZ 7's: Fa’asiu Fuatai
NZ U20: Thomas Umaga-Jenson
NZ Universities: Angus Williams, Tom Hardy, Jack Sherratt, Damien Scott
Highlanders: Daniel Lienert-Brown, Richard Buckman, Josh Dickson, Matt Faddes, Dillon Hunt, Fletcher Smith, Gavin Stark
Otago Razorbacks: Josh Dickson, Sam Dickson, Matt Faddes, Fa’asiu Fuatai, Dillon Hunt, Ricky Jackson, Fletcher Smith, Gavin Stark, Sione Teu, Josh Timu, Angus Williams
Otago Mens 7’s: Taylor Haugh
Otago Spirit: Julia Gorinski, Laura Harrison, Tegan Hollows, Jessica Kendall, Nicole Kennedy, Georgia Mason, Isla Pringle, Kate Smith, Lauren Tye, Leyhanna van Vugt, Olivia Waldron
Otago Spirit 7's: Julia Gorinski, Sam Hollows (c)
Otago U19: Jack McHugh, Josh Hill, Kilapati Lea, Mamea Taimalie
Otago U18: Gus McPherson
Wellington Thomas Umaga-Jenson
Bordeaux: Fa’asiu Fuatai


Greeting from the Club Captain

Trevor Turner

Otago University Rugby Football Club (OURFC) is unique amongst rugby clubs in New Zealand. Founded in 1884, our club has had more All Blacks than any other rugby club, sixty nine in all, fourty five doning the black jersey while still playing for the club. Our focus is excellence on and off the field.

On the field, we are the top club in Dunedin. Over the history of the Premier Rugby competition, we have won the competition fifty two times, twice the number of times the nearest other club has won. Our club has held the Ainge Trophy for the last six seasons; awarded to the club with the best aggregate finish across their top five teams. Our recent success has been a result of the coaching of some of Dunedins top rugby coaches and a fitness and conditiong program run in association with the Otago Polytechnic, run by Senior Lecturer in Physical Conditioning, Matt Blair, and All Blacks physiotherapist Peter Gallagher.

This is a student’s club which balances academic studies, sports excellence and social activities. We are the only rugby club in Dunedin that is Otago University Student Association affiliated. I am proud to say that students are actively involved in the decision making and the day to day running of the club.

We are also the only club in Dunedin that allows you eligible to be selected to represent your country for New Zealand Universities. NZU plays visiting teams touring New Zealand and often takes teams overseas to play other Universities or to play in international Rugby tournaments like the World University Rugby Cup.

If you are coming to Otago and you are looking for a club that pursues excellence, a club that is immersed in student culture, then the club you will want to play for is OURFC.

Andy Ellis, 2018 Club Captain

Buy Supporters Gear
Supporters Gear...
Fa'asiu Fuatai
Fa'asiu Fuatai Interview...
Tom Donnelly
Tom Donnelly Interview...
Rugby Training Guide
NZRU Coaching Toolbox...

Pass It On

Email this website to a friend

website by